Troopers in fatal Pilot Station shooting named

click here for the full story!

Alaska State Troopers have named the four men who opened fire on an assault suspect killed during a Pilot Station standoff last week, clarifying details on a trooper’s previous sightings of him.

Palmer-based Troopers Daron Cooper and Charles Withers, as well as Alaska Bureau of Investigation investigators Shayne Calt and Curtis Vik, were the troopers who shot at 27-year-old Dwight Heckman during a Thursday “exchange of gunfire” in woods near Pilot Station. Cooper and Withers have been with AST for 10 years and five years, while Calt and Vik have troopers for 14 and 16 years.

A Tuesday dispatch identifying the men didn’t say whether the troopers’ gunfire had killed Heckman, who was found dead by members of troopers’ Special Emergency Reaction Team following the standoff. His body was taken to the state medical examiner’s office in Anchorage for an autopsy.

Troopers in fatal Pilot Station shooting named


Content Goes Here